h1

My life in Singapore 2…

July 12, 2008

Continuing with the quirks of life in Singapore, you witness a strange phenomenon when you go to any foodcourt. Firstly, paper napkins are not offered at every outlet–so those who forget to carry their own will probably have to make sure they don’t need to use one. On empty table tops, you will see small packs of paper napkins placed as if to reserve the spot… and that’s exactly what they’re meant to do. Even now, I find this fascinating… that no one ever just moves those paper napkins and occupies a table, no matter how crowded the place. That line of decency is never crossed. It is the same when you stand in ATM queues… there’s no need to hunch over and cover your PIN coz the next person is standing atleast 3 feet behind you. By choice. As a courtesy.

I find myself bubbling with silent mirth when a taxi driver tells me the traffic situation in Singapore is pathetic and that the jams are horrible… coming from Gurgaon, where getting to office everyday was in itself an exercise in chance, I find it hilarious. How can anyone complain about a place where digital boards overhead show you exactly how many minutes it’s going to take you to go from where you are to your destination? And I mean EXACTLY.

Another very interesting sight, especially for any men reading this blog, is the sheer number of women of every age wearing shorts/ hotpants. It is probably just a step away from being declared the national dress. And the complete lack of neanderthals lusting after with lewd comments and catcalls. If eve-teasing exists, then it is hidden away in some corner. Again, coming from Gurgaon, this is a liberating change for me… to be able to walk around feeling comfortable and secure.

You must be wondering how is it that I have yet to find something I don’t like. Truth is, I don’t see it as a question of like or dislike. It is different… and right now, I’m in a phase where I’m loving the difference. The one thing I really, truly miss about India (apart from family and friends) is dhinchak bollywood… I never thought I’d be saying this, but I do. Now I see why there’s such a market overseas for Karan Johar movies.

Got some great news… I finally managed to convince my mom to spend longer than a couple of weeks with me. She’ll be coming over in August and staying till Diwali. Yay !

On that note, will close the entry for this week… more when it happens.

One comment

  1. I think you are in Spore to compensate for all those moths in the catcalling, dusty gurgaon…. 🙂

    good to see you blogging! 🙂



Leave a Reply

